The Silence of Being Buried – 16

landscape -35mm black and white with camera shutter error and development defect

landscape -35mm black and white with camera shutter error and development defect

Silence of Being Buried

no one is left
to tell the old jokes to
or no one is anymore listening enough

so many busy orchestrating
finite articles

no one moves the way they used to
no is as seductive or careful
or sinks further into the movement

so many looking for
the earwigs under the rug

come by different opinions
arrive at different locations
stop at different restaurants

my order
easy on the condiments
and I’d like a glass to wash it all down

I step out into the cold January air
and finger my inside pocket for cigarettes
but none are there
I allow myself one quick inhale of the cold
and jump as far into the wind as I can
for I am not old

I settle into the fact
I watch them make love in the apartment building hallway
halfway hoping they will notice me

I settle into the attitude
or it settles me
and I find myself back inside the foyer

I listen
at the door
for some sign
that it’s happening
but nothing echoes
more coldly
than silence

Leave a Reply

