The Silence of Being Buried – 4

New Years Tree - 35 mm partially fogged film, with water stain.

New Years Tree – 35 mm partially fogged film, with water stain.

You’re not the way you were
You are never
how you were.

How to be a man:

She insisted the building had once been a abattoir
but I knew it had once been a whorehouse.

so many different ways to say the same thing

You’re not who you once were
You are never
who you were.

Later in the day, the events of the morning seem
more another person’s day.
You may relax and sink your teeth into the R
of a Hershey bar
Or you may run around like a motherless bird
or a bird with no head
or a head with no body
rather
a mind with no body.
Later in the day, the events of yesterday seem
more real than whatever stench presides.

Each generation sees the weakness and greed of the previous generation.
And each generation does their best,
their very best,
to do much worse.

So much for age.

She insisted the building had once been an abattoir
so I killed her.

You’re not the man you were
You never were
the man you were.

I found the things to break and broke them.
They were easy to find
They were all around me.
I found the things to break and broke them.
They splintered and snapped
they slipped inside me.
I found the things to break and broke them.
They looked like innocence.
They were really obscene.
I found the things to break and broke them.
They made me a hero.

They made me.

Leave a Reply

