I am on the earth

sun

I am on my back

the clouds are unintelligible

I roll to my left in the grass
to feel cool on my left side
but only feel the air on my back

wet air on my bare back

I look toward the road
where heavy trucks carry loads
to places I will never see
or know

wet air on my bare face

I am on the earth

but I am in the sky

Soon, I will be called
and order and duty will bring me up
I will eat my vegetables
I will comb my hair
I will do my work

I roll left again
and face the stone god who taunts me
“prick,” I mutter

your greed overpowers so much fantasy

your greed overpowers me

I feel the warmth on glistening skin
the sun flows force on heated flesh
soon my breathing will steady

I pull blades of grass

I drive my fingers into the dirt.

One thought on “I am on the earth

Leave a Reply

