The Beauty of a Sundial

fungus 2011-05-29

Excuse me, he said
but I have mirrors to break

Previously, they broke the genitals off statues
and smashed the regal icons

Now they snap pencils and worry about splinters

Excuse me, he said,
but you’re in my way.

I have paper to fill.
Previously, I imagined the words could clutter the page
then run off and smear
like ashes across the desk

Instead, the grey dulled first my hand
then my mind.

Form is not a crutch for a crippled imagination

I sometimes like
to make substitutions.

Excuse me, he said,
do you know what time it is?

Previously, time was where you were standing

The beauty of a sundial

Leave a Reply

