Inner Machine

dandelion 2011-05-28

I knew him as
a mountain

I lay close to the ground
my cheek on the grass
my eyes closed
I am invisible

There are so many places to hide
amongst the trees
behind the shed
between the parked cars

But I stay in the open
down on the ground

The sun warms my side
No shadow crosses me
and I start to hear
the inner machine

The sun warms my side
I know the grass soil stone
the massive thing beneath my head
will thrust up

I pretend it was never a game
and stand

One thought on “Inner Machine

Leave a Reply

