Your Broken Wing

Keep that cynical outlook.
It keeps you
holds you observationally
makes you detached and
objective or maybe
just an object.

As for me, he said,
I would rather be diseased than be free of the world

When I was a boy,
a robin flew into the window
I could hear it from across the house

Slotted on a track,
my racer lost his course,
and slid across the wood floor
horrified at the sudden knowledge
that the walls were
intangible

My eyes looked down
at feathers in the clover.
The bird moved elsewhere
I imagined
no cat or dog
just a broken wing

Leave a Reply

