last snowfall

i waited by the bridge
knees together and hands deep in my pockets
hard against the cold
knuckles stiff
while snow fell
and you were late

i imagined larger trucks rising over the hills
with loads straining the backs
like old giants returning from the forests
loaded with trees for the winter

all i saw
cold wet coupes drenching the sides with slush
bearing down on each other in an arrogant confidence
the strong faith in machinery
hard against the world

i could feel my hair stiffen
as eternity reached for me
and my meagre desire
to get warm
seemed would forever keep my head turned to the south
where you were

The Kings of All Cold
then drew their swords
and clashed in mighty battle
I witnessed the truth
with my eyes wide open
No one was coming

One thought on “last snowfall

Leave a Reply

