Merry Christmas, Babe

once
you took my hand
and walked me down the stairs
through the dark hall
past the kitchen

light
and a blend of sounds
or hushed voices
swaddled my awareness
and made my eyes blink

once
we moved so well
your hands were deft
and my actions were timed
to an ethereal music

dark
wood walls and sad
carpeted floors
rest in a fog or mire
and watch time drip

once
the tree of lights
you loved so much
stood centre stage
in the play you made me

now
I remain aside
and the window is glazed
with the flash and shine
from cars in the street

Leave a Reply

