North Facing

the tree he planted on
the north facing side of the property
is losing its leaves

I woke this morning
the cold of the room

my movements predict themselves
someone gets dressed
then leaves
the chimes in the wind-up clock
appeal to my sense of hatred
and I twitch a little when I hear

I woke this morning
bad layout of factors

we can feed the fire
my legs are logs if
I lose an E and gain an O
truth is just that way
erasers make truth more
I laugh when I hear sirens

I woke this morning
more afraid to move

he will lay the stones on
the north facing side of the property
to make a wall

Leave a Reply

