Belief in Images

sleep is a way of bringing back
we find digested bits of life along the way

ignore the marks on the face and the hands
let the waves wash the sand away

if your body bends in slight possessive curves
then
slander my movements with your hands
and dangle your lust over my edge of desire
I hold my breath while I stand
I hold my breath

leave the care of your loved ones to others
for love is impractical at best

sleep is a way of leaving behind
we shuffle our cards into the deck

if you know the way to measure our future
then
take what’s left of whatever you wanted
when you subtract what you truly received
and quickly throw it the fuck away
and quickly throw it

Leave a Reply

