Mother lost the baby in the pumpkin patch

I hear them move
so shallow in their steps
and I watch the lights go on and off
while they go back and forth

Mother loves the air
so narrow in her chest
She feels the strain of breathing
a little sharper, on and on

But lights evolve and darken
They cease their operations
Each passing day brings the season
more firmly to an end

Mother drinks the morning dew
I watch her face the earth
I walk the tightrope of her spine
a little less confident

Expressed in groups
so easy in their lives
and I hear the sounds of children laughing
while I lean back and forth

Mother spins the earth for me
a little at a time
I wish the clubs the juggler swings
would keep a perfect line

2 thoughts on “Mother lost the baby in the pumpkin patch

Leave a Reply

